RSS

Fin

15 Dec

For the #edublogclub year-long challenge to blog on education. While the official club has ended, they have shared posts to continue the journey through 2017. This week’s prompt is the final one to celebrate the success of completing the year-long challenge.

It’s a bit anti-climactic since I’ve celebrated two “endings” of the challenge. Well one reflecting on the blogging process midway through the year called Reflecting on Blogging (though I’d been blogging before the club began) and the second when they were going to end early called … and scene. So, unless they come back from the dead, this is really IT.

MatterhornHow do I feel? In one word, accomplished. I saw the yearlong activity through from January through December. I posted each week using the prompts and in between with other blogging-related content like book reviews and librarian activities. I’d say that it’s a characteristic of my personality, the need to accomplish an activity once it’s started. Ultimately every library activity from author visits (planned years in advance sometimes) to preparation for the year ahead is an exercise in perseverance. Students may change, the weather even, and administration or colleagues, but inside you need to revisit the concepts and the reasons, refining them and getting as close to perfection as they can before the launch. You hear this from authors whose published books began years before.

So again, thank you Edublogs for putting this together and keeping people connected. I’ve followed several blogs and connected with others professionally that I would not have otherwise. It’s inspiring and reinforces the need for educators to talk, share, and engage with one another. I’ll be closing the book on 2017 and a years worth of posts and can’t wait to see what 2018 will bring.

 
 

3 responses to “Fin

  1. Kathleen

    December 15, 2017 at 11:12 am

    Hi Alicia,

    A huge congratulations! Before I read your line about it being a personality trait to finish what you start I thought you must have a very determined and committed personality! It’s admirable.

    You’ve been an incredible example of someone who uses a blog for professional growth, connections and reflection.

    I’m sure you’ll keep blogging in 2018 and I look forward to seeing what posts you have in store.

    Happy holidays!
    Kathleen

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a comment