RSS

Is there a write way?

27 Nov

As part of the #edublogclub year-long challenge to blog on education. While the official club has ended, they have shared posts to continue the journey through 2017. I’m combining the next two prompts about teaching handwriting and embedding a poll.

2017-11-27 07.45.55

Good handwriting means something, like being well-dressed. It’s a skill and should be seen as such. Maybe I’m biased because I am often complimented on mine. But, I also appreciate it in others and can count on one hand colleagues and friends whose handwriting I admire.

With that out there, yes, I do believe teaching handwriting including cursive should be required, if for nothing else than knowing what’s out there and picking what’s best for you. Don’t tell me you’re a cicerone, but have only tasted a handful of beer. So, how would you know if cursive is your handwriting style of choice if you haven’t learned it? To quote Nike, “just do it”.

Yet I am only one person. What do you think?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2017 in Blogging, edublogsclub, Miscellaneous

 

One response to “Is there a write way?

  1. Kathleen Morris (@kathleen_morris)

    December 2, 2017 at 12:21 am

    Looking forward to the results, Alicia!

    Like

     

Leave a comment