RSS

Let them eat cake

27 Oct

As part of the #edublogclub year-long challenge to blog on education. While the official club has ended, they have still shared posts to continue the journey through 2017. This week’s prompt was about a hobby or interest. 

Every now and then I’ll post to Instagram a food and book picture, in part to share what I’m reading, but also seasonal foods, delicious dishes, or a snapshot of my culinary diet because I like to eat. But if I was to focus on a hobby, it would be baking– usually if a friend is visiting, it’s a colleague’s birthday, or to say thank you. And what usually comes from the baking is a picture of the finished product. I certainly don’t go all-out in posing the food, but sometimes it feels right. Plus, there’s no pressure because I don’t have a baking blog where they’re meticulously posting step-by-step directions and the final product for comparison. So here are a few:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And just like pictures bring you back to a moment or a smell reminds you of someone specific, I can tell you for each baked item, why it was baked. My own version of Like Water for Chocolate. Next, if I get super ambitious, I should take inspiration from books and bake a companion to it. Wouldn’t that be sweet?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2017 in Blogging, edublogsclub, Miscellaneous

 

4 responses to “Let them eat cake

  1. Kathleen Morris

    October 28, 2017 at 1:42 am

    Wow, this post is making me hungry! Such a great hobby that others truly appreciate. Love the photography too.

    Maybe you should moonlight as a food blogger? 😉

    Keep baking!
    Kathleen

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Alicia Abdul

      October 28, 2017 at 11:26 am

      I’m not an experimental baker, I like a good recipe to follow. I enjoy the purpose behind the baking instead. It would end up being a food/life blog instead.

      Like

       
  2. Ines

    October 28, 2017 at 8:41 am

    HI Alicia,
    Your pastry and cakes look delicious and all are beautiful. I would choose the one which has the form of a heart! I also think it’s a very sweet way to say “thank you”
    Ines

    Like

     
    • Alicia Abdul

      October 28, 2017 at 11:27 am

      That was a “thank you” and “I love you” combined since it was my husband and my anniversary several years ago and it was filled and topped with his favorite combination– peanut butter and chocolate.

      Like

       

Leave a comment