RSS

Quoth me

28 Sep

As part of the #edublogclub year-long challenge to blog on education, this week’s topic focuses on quotes. 

If you read my blog with any regularity, you’ll see that many of my posts are accompanied by several pictures and often, a quote. As a reader, I am fond of words. I have my favorite tattooed on my body in another language. And I use quotes often: to laugh when I want to cry, to entertain and amuse, to stay humble yet often to empower, and to know myself. But I’ll share the one that I actually just shared with students today doing a book tasting in the library, showcasing the magic of books in all of their forms and formats:

DifferentCombinationDoesn’t that absolutely capture the magic of books? Twenty-six letters and so many books that I have fallen in love with. How is that even possible?

With the advent of technology to make things faster and easier, let’s never forget the power of words. Spoken or written in the past or in the future. Use bigger words, don’t use abbreviations. Find a substitute for “that’s interesting” and say what you really mean. Buy books by authors you love to support their art. It may be easy to forget, but that’s why I keep this reminder around. Words are power.

 

3 responses to “Quoth me

  1. Kathleen

    September 28, 2017 at 11:54 pm

    Wow, that sure is a powerful quote. That’s definitely one I’d love to share with students. Did you make it up yourself?

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on quotes. Very insightful, Alicia!

    Kathleen

    Like

     
    • Alicia Abdul

      September 29, 2017 at 9:41 am

      There’s no clear attribution for the quote. The image and text was pulled from Pinterest but I remember this quote every time I read a good book!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Ines

    October 1, 2017 at 6:12 pm

    Hi, Alicia
    What a surprising truth like a hidden jewel in your quote! Me too I’m fond of books and of writing and I had never thougth about this so simple and impressive fact. I’ll share it tomorrow with my students! And I’ll look for quotes in your blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a comment