RSS

Needing it, like, yesterday

15 Jun

20200614BlogBanner

Certain books are felt so deeply that it usually takes another day or two to find the words to adequately express coherent thoughts about them. Punching the Air, a collaboration of Ibi Zoboi and Yusef Salaam is one of those books.

PunchingTheAirThanks for Edelweiss, I read a digital advanced copy and implore Balzer + Bray to fast track this book’s publication because I can’t possibly wait until September 1st to share Punching the Air with the teens (and staff) at our high school library. I think I have 12 copies on our order list and am debating whether to add more. Likewise, I’ve already mentioned it to a few art teachers about doing a collaboration using it.

With the combination of being told in verse and the powerhouse Zoboi penning it, the words are each tiny raindrops unleashing a torrential downpour of empathy. Amal is in lockup because the justice system is unfair. And the crudeness of his situation behind bars is exacerbated by his talent, thoughts, and loving relationship with his family that does not stop believing in him. That’s also where the book intersects with Salaam who, as one of the wrongfully convicted Central Park Five, uses the prejudice and injustices that transformed his life into a story that gives a mirror to so many black and brown boys.

I wrote down half a dozen lines that punched me in the gut (again from the advanced copy) to foster conversations about the school to prison pipeline.

“On the day of my conviction
I memorize
my inmate number
my crime
my time

On the day of my conviction
I forget
my school ID number
my top three colleges
my class schedule”

And it reminded me of the recent law that raised the age for teens convicted of crimes being punished through the adult legal system rather than a juvenile one in New York state, where I reside. Multiple passages were apropos of what I’m reading in the newspaper, seeing on the TV, scrolling through on social media.

My blog title says it all. I plead that Balzer + Bray push up the publication day because I can’t wait for September 1st. I need more people to read it so I can talk to them about it. I need it in the hands of my students. I can’t imagine that halfway through 2020, this book won’t get knocked off my top 10 for 2020.

 

One response to “Needing it, like, yesterday

Leave a comment