RSS

Cover Love

10 Aug

Covers are integral for selling a book without having to say a word (as well as titles, but that is a blog post for another day). If put on the spot, the kind of covers I drool over are Sarah Cross’ Beau Rivage series, Ellen Hopkins hardcovers, George O’Connor’s Olympains graphic novels, and standalones that capture the mood of the book like Out of Darkness and And We Stay.

So I took the opportunity to capture the beauty of a new book to be released in October that I had an advanced copy for, E.K. Johnston’s (Exit, Pursued by a Bear) That Inevitable Victorian Thing. Not only is the cover art gorgeous, when you really look at it, the artist understood the book as well. Plus, the content is an intriguing alternate history with GLBTQ characters, picturesque settings, and lovable secondary characters.

2017-08-06 21.17.06

Teens will keep interested in the content, but likely what will draw them in if a librarian isn’t there to recommend it is the cover. What other covers do you adore? I can say for certainty that I would poster-print Cross’ covers and hang as wall art if I had the wall space. Well… we are remodeling our house, so maybe this is a real possibility.

2017-07-04 15.44.24

Then, what’s really underneath it all, too? Anne Blankman shared her love for the hardcover where publishers put thought into what’s underneath. Understandably I now strip all my hardcovers to see what’s underneath. Ever done it? You should, you might be a winner! Pun intended– because the last book that I fell in love with was You May Already Be a Winner for it’s navy hardcover with a complimenting golden ribbon along the spine.

Your mission next time you’re holding a book in your hands is to take a few minutes to appreciate the design of the cover. And if it’s a hardcover, see what’s underneath it all *wink wink*.

 
 

3 responses to “Cover Love

  1. Stacey Rattner

    August 10, 2017 at 11:00 am

    Yes! Many times there is a totally secret, different cover under a picture book. I always make sure I take a peek!

    Like

     
  2. morriskathleen

    August 24, 2017 at 12:24 pm

    HI Alicia,

    Covers really are crucial, aren’t they? I’m so guilty of judging books by covers at times.
    I just adore the cover of That Inevitable Victorian Thing and I’m glad to hear the content was enjoyable too!

    Kathleen from the Edublogs team 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a comment