RSS

Keeping them all to myself

06 Apr

In a tongue-in-cheek address to this week’s #edublogsclub challenge that talks about ‘giving it away’, I’ll start with my need to keep it all to myself. With books that is. For many years (and I still struggle when a read is just that powerful), when I closed the book on a fabulous read, my next thought was literally, I want to keep this all to myself. I wanted to believe that the author wrote it just for me, that the book would sit only on my bookshelf, that it was mine, all mine. But it’s a preposterous thoughts because good books are meant to be shared and it’s kind of my job.

So in honor of my narcissistic belief that my favorite writers are writing just for me, I’m going to give some books away. I will send* a book box of sorts (within the United States) with one of my favorite books and a recently-reviewed galley with a bookish gift for good measure to the first person to answer correctly in the comments below: what porcelain item is on my personal bookshelf?

TruthKeepingBooksaSecret

Believe it or not, I didn’t actually create this, but I know I’m not the only one!

 
 

3 responses to “Keeping them all to myself

  1. Denise Krebs

    April 11, 2017 at 6:54 pm

    Alicia,
    Funny! I’m glad you recognize your idea is preposterous, and that you actually do share your books, as a friendly librarian ought.

    I guess you have a porcelain dog on your personal book shelf. How did I do?

    Warmly,
    Denise

    Like

     
    • Alicia Abdul

      April 11, 2017 at 7:35 pm

      Hi Denise, It is not a dog and a hit is hidden on my blog somewhere! Thank you for being the first guess!

      Like

       
  2. Cath Temple

    May 8, 2017 at 3:27 am

    I’m not in the USA but think your idea of sharing your books is a good one. I find it really hard to get rid of any books from my book shelf but some times it is necessary. I’m tending to go digital with my books now, but there is something about having that book in your hand. I have absolutely no idea what you have on your bookshelf so I will just have a guess. Could it be a reading angel.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
