RSS

Free tools

04 Feb

The #edublogsclub post for this week made me think. Yes, there are a lot of web tools and apps that are absolutely free and continue to be. I am thankful for the ones that remain free because as an educator there’s nothing more halting than to find the tool you’ve been using has gone “pro” (read: paid).

The tool and app that I am most appreciative of as a librarian and avid reader is Goodreads. Here’s why: When I became aware that my passion was going to become my career, I wanted to have a way to remember everything that I read. Cue multiple black binders where I would create a one-page Word document with the cover, title, and author of my recently read book. I would then add my review and a summary along with some subject headings and my rating. The binders would then be organized by my rating. Then I needed them to last longer so I became laminating them.

Then, Goodreads happened and my mind was blown. What better way to keep up with what I was reading and connecting socially with other avid readers than to be a part of Goodreads. The organizational side of the books is amazing. I can sort from the date I read it, to the date it was published, to even the general rating a book is given. I can look at all of the books I labeled as “dark” or I can add books that I want to read to a separate list. I get automated messages when the authors I read have new materials coming out or if there’s a giveaway I can enter. I run book groups professionally through their community features and regularly get requests to review materials from authors who see my read number (2,341 and counting as a member since 2008). I plan to celebrate our 10th anniversary together with some champagne because it is just that important of a tool to me personally and professionally.

Thanks, Goodreads! I ❤ you!

heartgoodreads

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2017 in edublogsclub, Librarian Life, Miscellaneous

 

3 responses to “Free tools

  1. Nancy Wagner

    February 5, 2017 at 3:06 am

    One of my favorite tools too! Love the goal setting and just that I can now keep track of all of the great books people recommend.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Sue Waters

    February 8, 2017 at 3:29 am

    I also like it that you can add a Goodread Bookshelf to the sidebar. Which is really helpful for sharing books with students.

    @suewaters

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Alicia Abdul

      February 8, 2017 at 8:53 am

      Yes, Sue. I have widgets on some other sites for my Goodreads shelves and obviously have one on my blog! The best part is that they can be customized too.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
