RSS

Worth a thousand words

26 Jan

I’d like to focus on pictures and images in presentations. After realizing that I’d like to do more presentations to library colleagues, non-library educators, and others, I wanted to learn as much as possible about the science and skill of good presenting. I amassed videos, Slideshare presentations (like this one), and articles about the topic and settled on one non-negotiable for all of my presentations: they will be visually stimulating. The slide will be beautiful as a standalone and picture-worthy itself.

With that, I investigated the best locations for finding images that could be incorporated into my presentations through creative commons with Pixabay being my absolute favorite. And in developing the presentation itself, it makes me think deeper about the message I want to send. Luckily as a librarian, I’m good at search terms!

If I can leave one nugget, it’s that presentations can go south quickly. It’s painful to be at presentations that are unappealing with the age-old complaints about text-heavy, unreadable slides and presentation tools with too much movement making the best of us seasick. So be aware that just like the way you dress, the presentation is an extension of you.

slide14

The final slide of a recent presentation.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2017 in edublogsclub, Librarian Life, Miscellaneous

 

4 responses to “Worth a thousand words

  1. Alicia Montgomery

    January 27, 2017 at 9:13 pm

    Don’t you just LOVE Gwyneth Jones? The Daring Librarian? Another one of my favorite bloggers! We definitely do share many similarities! Our first names being one of them! 🙂

    Like

     
  2. Anselmo

    January 27, 2017 at 11:04 pm

    Your article got me thinking about two things: How much time do you need to develop a presentation with such a high standard of visuals? and it is surely worth it to take a designer course !
    I am also part of the #edublogsclub challenge this year. Here is the link to my latest post, if you would like to visit it: https://goo.gl/w0RiAb Here I mention that as educators we need to master communication skills, and with the help of semiologists we can be great communicators. I´m thinking about a “golden team”: a teacher, a librarian, a designer and a semiologist. All to create learning content.

    Like

     
    • Alicia Abdul

      January 28, 2017 at 1:04 am

      Sounds heavenly!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
