RSS

Reading alone at night

27 Dec

One of my favorite quotes circulating on Facebook and Pinterest right now being put on coffee mugs and t-shirts is

a day without reading is like… just kidding, I have no idea.

And that essentially sums up my reading life. I tend to read a little bit every day, if not an entire book, then a good chunk of one, with more at the ready. Sometimes it’s a graphic novel at lunch at work and sometimes it is a fast-paced thriller that I have to finish tonight because I need to know how it resolves itself.

But my favorite part of a vacation (obviously as a school librarian) is having the extra time to read. I do my house cleaning, organizing, chores, and errands in the morning when I’m at my most ambitious and then try to spend the rest of the day reading. And that includes my favorite part of the day, staying up later than I normally do during a regular work week now that the kids and husband are in bed.

In the dark. With a cup of tea. Just me and my book.On the couch. Comfortable pajamas and slippers. Maybe a blanket. Yes, me and the book.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 27, 2016 in Librarian Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
