RSS

Wilde thoughts

18 Dec

Oscar Wilde is quoted as saying “You can never be overdressed or over-educated,” so, I like my books to teach me something. And, Jonathan Fetter-Vorm’s graphic history of the first atomic bomb is just such a book. I walked around after finishing it, spreading the factoids that I was previously unaware of to people who weren’t asking for the information. Several other books have had the same impact: Sneaker Century: A History of Athletic Shoes by Amber Keyser that I recently posted about and A Natural History of the Senses by Diane Ackerman. I find the collection of the information put into a readable nonfiction text is brain food. The best kind.

Trinity is as much about the politics as the science and the human element. The font is easy on the eyes and there is a nice balance of narrative and dialogue, with the illustrations moving the story forward alongside the words, which cannot be said for all graphic novels.

Are there more graphic novels that do as good a job? Feed me!

Trinity

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 18, 2015 in Miscellaneous

 

Leave a Reply

 
